Skip to main content
Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 20
Thursday, May 12, 2022, 4:08 p.m. to 6:10 p.m.
Sven Spengemann, Chair (Liberal)

• George Chahal for Randeep Sarai (Liberal)
• Tracy Gray for Garnett Genuis (Conservative)
• Kelly McCauley for Ziad Aboultaif (Conservative)
• Jenna Sudds for Hon. Robert Oliphant (Liberal)
• Anita Vandenbeld for Ali Ehsassi (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Colin Sawatzky, Analyst
• Billy Joe Siekierski, Analyst
As an individual
• Kerry Brown, Professor of Chinese Studies, King's College London, Director, Lau China Institute
• Steve Tsang, Professor, SOAS University of London
• André Laliberté, Full Professor, School of Political Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences & Research Chair in Taiwan Studies, University of Ottawa
• Joseph Wong, Roz and Ralph Halbert Professor of Innovation, Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, Professor of Political Science, University of Toronto
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, January 31, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the Situation in the Taiwan Strait.

Kerry Brown and Steve Tsang made statements and answered questions.

It was agreed, — That, in relation to the study of the Situation at the Russia-Ukraine Border and Implications for Peace and Security, the proposed budget in the amount of $ 227,485.54, for the committee’s travel to Latvia, Estonia, Lithuania and Poland, be adopted.

André Laliberté and Joseph Wong made statements and answered questions.

At 6:10 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Erica Pereira
Clerk of the committee