Skip to main content
Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 74
Friday, June 2, 2023, 8:45 a.m. to 10:54 a.m.
John Brassard, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Sabrina Charland, Analyst
• Alexandra Savoie, Analyst
• Maxime-Olivier Thibodeau, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Dyane Adam, Former Vice-Chair of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation Board of Directors
• Dean Baxendale, Chief Executive Officer, China Democracy Foundation and Optimum Publishing International
• Dr. Ginger Gibson, Director, The Firelight Group
• Dr. Thomas Juneau, Associate Professor, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa
• Andrew Mitrovica, Investigative Reporter
• Madeleine Redfern
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h) and the motion adopted by the committee on Wednesday, December 7, 2022, the committee resumed its study of foreign interference and threats to the integrity of democratic institutions, intellectual property and the Canadian state.

Dean Baxendale, Thomas Juneau and Andrew Mitrovica made statements and answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Dyane Adam, Ginger Gibson and Madeleine Redfern made statements and answered questions.


Lisa Hepfner moved, — That, the deadline to submit witnesses for the study of the use of TikTok and its parent company, ByteDance Ltd be three days following the adoption of the motion, and that the committee hold one meeting before the end of June at the Chair's discretion.

Debate arose thereon.


Matthew Green moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced:

YEAS: Parm Bains, Greg Fergus, Lisa Hepfner, Annie Koutrakis, Ya'ara Saks — 5;

NAYS: Michael Barrett, Jacques Gourde, Matthew Green, Dan Muys, René Villemure — 5.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the affirmative.

Accordingly, the motion was agreed to.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 10:54 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the committee