Skip to main content
Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 64
Tuesday, April 18, 2023, 3:33 p.m. to 5:31 p.m.
John Brassard, Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Alexandra Savoie, Analyst
• Sabrina Charland, Analyst
• Hon. Mona Fortier, P.C., M.P., President of the Treasury Board
Treasury Board Secretariat
• Stephen Burt, Chief Data Officer and Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Performance Sector
• Catherine Luelo, Deputy Minister and Chief Information Officer of Canada
BC Freedom of Information and Privacy Association
• Mike Larsen, President
B'nai Brith Canada
• David Matas, Senior Legal Counsel
• Michael Wenig, Lawyer, Matas Law Society
As an individual
• Ken Rubin, Investigative Researcher
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, May 16, 2022, the committee resumed its study of access to information and privacy system.

The Minister made a statement and, with Catherine Luelo and Stephen Burt, answered questions.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Ken Rubin, David Matas and Mike Larsen made statements and, with Michael Wenig answered questions.

Michael Barrett gave notice of the following motion:

That the committee request that the government table the following documentation in unredacted form, and that the documents be published on the committee's website:

1. Part II of the Deschênes Commission Report;

2. Alti Rodal, Nazi War Criminals in Canada: The Historical and Policy Setting from the 1940s to the Present (the Rodal report) (submitted to the Commission of Inquiry on War Criminals chaired by Justice Jules Deschênes in 1986); and

3. All Department of Justice and RCMP Nazi war crimes files including all investigation files relating to those individuals recommended for investigation by the Deschênes Commission.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:18 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.


Michael Barrett moved, — That the committee immediately undertake a study and review of the Liberal government’s decision to appoint the sister-in-law of a sitting Cabinet Minister, who himself breached the Conflict of Interest Act in relation to a decision concerning another member of his family, as the interim Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner, provided that: (a) this study consist of a minimum of three hearings; (b) the committee hear testimony from Martine Richard, the interim Commissioner, Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities, and other witnesses the committee deems necessary; and (c) the committee report its findings to the House.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced:

YEAS: Michael Barrett, Jacques Gourde, Matthew Green, Damien C. Kurek, René Villemure — 5;

NAYS: Parm Bains, Sean Casey, Greg Fergus, Lisa Hepfner, Majid Jowhari — 5.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the affirmative.

Accordingly, the motion was agreed to.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $9850.00, for the study of foreign interference and threats to the integrity of democratic institutions, intellectual property and the Canadian State, be adopted.

At 5:31 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Nancy Vohl
Clerk of the committee