Skip to main content
Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 33
Tuesday, August 9, 2022, 3:02 p.m. to 4:50 p.m.
Pat Kelly, Chair (Conservative)

• Sukh Dhaliwal for Parm Bains (Liberal)
• Jasraj Singh Hallan for Damien C. Kurek (Conservative)
• Brenda Shanahan for Ya'ara Saks (Liberal)
• Anita Vandenbeld for Hon. Greg Fergus (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Sabrina Charland, Analyst
• Raphaëlle Deraspe, Analyst
As an individual
• Ronald J. Deibert, Professor of Political Science, and Director, Citizen Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto
• Michel Juneau-Katsuya, Expert and Researcher on National Security and Intelligence
Canadian Civil Liberties Association
• Brenda McPhail, Director, Privacy, Technology and Surveillance Program
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, July 26, 2022, the committee resumed its study of device investigation tools used by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


Lisa Hepfner moved, — That the committee affirm that it is satisfied that the RCMP is not using Pegasus or NSO Group technology; that the use of ODITs is reserved for only the most serious cases; that the approval of a request to use ODITs comes with strict terms and conditions, and must be ultimately approved by a superior court judge; that the use of these tools without judicial authorization would be a criminal offence; and that the committee supports the RCMP in their mandate to protect Canadians from terrorism, human and drug trafficking, money laundering, and murder, while ensuring accountability.

Debate arose thereon.


Matthew Green moved, — That the committee do now adjourn.

The question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced:

YEAS: James Bezan, Matthew Green, Jasraj Singh Hallan, René Villemure, Ryan Williams — 5;

NAYS: Sukh Dhaliwal, Lisa Hepfner, Iqra Khalid, Brenda Shanahan, Anita Vandenbeld — 5.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the affirmative.

Accordingly, the motion was agreed to.

At 4:50 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Michael MacPherson
Committee clerk