Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 71
Wednesday, June 14, 2023, 4:45 p.m. to 6:53 p.m.
Salma Zahid, Chair (Liberal)

• Jasraj Singh Hallan for Hon. Michelle Rempel Garner (Conservative)
• Anna Roberts for Larry Maguire (Conservative)
• Ruby Sahota for Arielle Kayabaga (Liberal)
• Hon. Tim Uppal for Larry Maguire (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Philippe Antoine Gagnon, Analyst
• Andrea Garland, Analyst
• Hon. Sean Fraser, P.C., M.P., Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
Department of Citizenship and Immigration
• Christiane Fox, Deputy Minister
• Michèle Kingsley, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the committee on Wednesday, June 7, 2023, the committee commenced its study of the exploitation scheme targeting certain international students.

The minister made a statement and, with Christiane Fox, answered questions.

At 5:49 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:55 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Christiane Fox and Michèle Kingsley answered questions.

On motion of Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe, it was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $15,750, for the study of the exploitation scheme targeting certain international students, be adopted.

At 6:53 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Keelan Buck
Clerk of the committee