Skip to main content
Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 3
Thursday, February 3, 2022, 11:03 a.m. to 1:12 p.m.
Salma Zahid, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Madalina Chesoi, Analyst
• Martin McCallum, Analyst
As an individual
• Lou Janssen Dangzalan, Immigration Lawyer
• Wei William Tao, Canadian Immigration Lawyer and Co-founder of the Arenous Foundation
Canadian Alliance of Student Associations
• Christian Fotang, Chair of the Board of Directors
• Jared Maltais, Interim Executive Director
Association des collèges et universités de la francophonie canadienne
• Martin Normand, Director, Strategic Research and International Relations
Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada
• Alain Dupuis, Director General
Le Québec c’est nous aussi
• Thibault Camara, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, February 1, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the recruitment and acceptance rates of foreign students.

Lou Janssen Dangzalan, Wei Wiliam Tao and Christian Fotang made statements and answered questions.

At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Alain Dupuis, Martin Normand and Thibault Camara made statements and answered questions.

At 1:13 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stephanie Bond
Clerk of the Committee