Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 48
Friday, October 21, 2022, 1:01 p.m. to 3:03 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the clerk of the committee presided over the election of the first vice-chair.


Rachael Thomas moved, — That Kevin Waugh be elected First Vice-Chair of the committee.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Chris Bittle, Martin Champoux, Michael Coteau, Marilyn Gladu, Anthony Housefather, Peter Julian, Tim Louis, Martin Shields, Rachael Thomas, Tony Van Bynen, Kevin Waugh — 11;

NAYS: — 0.

• Hon. Pablo Rodriguez, P.C., M.P., Minister of Canadian Heritage
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
• Ian Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer
• Rachelle Frenette, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director
• Adam Balkovec, Legal Counsel
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Isabelle Mondou, Deputy Minister
• Thomas Owen Ripley, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-18, An Act respecting online communications platforms that make news content available to persons in Canada.

Ian Scott made a statement and, with Rachelle Frenette, answered questions.

At 1:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 2:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The minister made a statement and, with Isabelle Mondou, answered questions.

At 3:03 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the committee