Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 46
Friday, October 7, 2022, 1:03 p.m. to 3:03 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Melissa Lantsman for Hon. Tim Uppal (Conservative)
• Ya'ara Saks for Chris Bittle (Liberal)
• Jamie Schmale for Hon. Tim Uppal (Conservative)
• Tony Van Bynen for Lisa Hepfner (Liberal)
• Anita Vandenbeld for Tim Louis (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Hon. Ahmed Hussen, P.C., M.P., Minister of Housing and Diversity and Inclusion
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Mala Khanna, Associate Deputy Minister
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, September 20, 2022, the committee proceeded to a briefing to discuss the department of Canadian Heritage's contract with the Community Media Advocacy Centre.

The minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:48 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:49 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Rachael Thomas moved, — That the Minister of Canadian Heritage be invited to appear before the committee at the earliest date possible, regarding the federal funding provided to the Community Media Advocacy Centre (CMAC) by the Department of Canadian Heritage and the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

Debate arose thereon.


The Chair ruled that the point of order by Ms. Sasks is a point of order.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Martin Champoux, Anthony Housefather, Peter Julian, Ya'ara Saks, Tony Van Bynen, Anita Vandenbeld — 6;

NAYS: Melissa Lantsman, John Nater, Rachael Thomas, Kevin Waugh — 4.

The debate continued.


Kevin Waugh moved, — That the motion be amended by adding after the words “Minister of Canadian Heritage” the following: “, and Ian Scott, the current Chair of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC),”.

Debate arose thereon.

At 3:03 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the committee