Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 44
Tuesday, September 27, 2022, 11:02 a.m. to 1:01 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Caroline Desbiens for Martin Champoux (Bloc Québécois)
• Jacques Gourde for Hon. Tim Uppal (Conservative)
• Sébastien Lemire for Martin Champoux (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
As an individual
• Peter Menzies
• Hugh Stephens, Executive Fellow, School of Public Policy, University of Calgary
• Monika Ille, Chief Executive Officer
Digital Content Next
• Jason Kint, Chief Executive Officer
Independent Online News Publishers of Canada
• Jeanette Ageson, Publisher, The Tyee
Saskatchewan Weekly Newspapers Association
• Chris Ashfield, President
• Steve Nixon, Executive Director
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-18, An Act respecting online communications platforms that make news content available to persons in Canada.

Peter Menzies, Hugh Stephens, Monika Ille, Jason Kint, Jeanette Ageson, and Chris Ashfield made statements and, with Steve Nixon, answered questions.

At 11:57 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.


Kevin Waugh moved, — That the Minister of Canadian Heritage be invited to appear before the committee, regarding the federal funding provided to the Community Media Advocacy Centre (CMAC) by the Department of Canadian Heritage and the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

Debate arose thereon.

The question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Jacques Gourde, John Nater, Rachael Thomas, Kevin Waugh — 4;

NAYS: Chris Bittle, Michael Coteau, Lisa Hepfner, Anthony Housefather, Peter Julian, Sébastien Lemire, Tim Louis — 7.

ORDERED, — That the clerk inform Andrea Skinner, Chair of the Board of Hockey Canada, and Michael Brind’Amour, former Chair of the Board of Hockey Canada, that the date of their summons to appear before the committee on Tuesday, October 4, 2022, be maintained.

ORDERED, — That the clerk inform Hockey Canada that the draft minutes from 2022, and any notes taken during the in camera sessions by board members or staff of Hockey Canada related to the 2018 incident in London, Ontario, sent for by the committee on September 20, 2022, be received by the committee by Friday, September 30, 2022.

At 1:01 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the committee