Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 41
Wednesday, July 27, 2022, 11:05 a.m. to 3:07 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Andréanne Larouche for Martin Champoux (Bloc Québécois)
• Sébastien Lemire for Martin Champoux (Bloc Québécois)
• Richard Martel for Hon. Tim Uppal (Conservative)
• Karen Vecchio for Rachael Thomas (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
Hockey Canada
• Andrew Winton, Legal Counsel
As an individual
• Glen McCurdie
BFL Canada
• Barry F. Lorenzetti, Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Hockey League
• Dan MacKenzie, President
Hockey Canada
• Scott Smith, President and Chief Operating Officer
• Brian Cairo, Chief Financial Officer
• Dave Andrews, Chair, Hockey Canada Foundation
• Tom Renney, Chief Executive Officer (Retired)
Ligue de Hockey Junior Majeur du Québec
• Gilles Courteau, Commissioner
Ontario Hockey League
• David Branch, Commissioner
Western Hockey League
• Ron Robison, Commissioner
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the order of reference of June 2, 2022, and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, June 13, 2022, the committee resumed its study of Hockey Canada’s involvement in alleged sexual assaults committed in 2018.

On motion of John Nater, it was agreed, — That the evidence to be given by Glen McCurdie, Scott Smith, Brian Cairo, Dan MacKenzie, Gilles Courteau, David Branch, Dave Andrews, Ron Robison and Tom Renney in relation to the study of Hockey Canada’s involvement in alleged sexual assaults committed in 2018 be taken under oath or by solemn affirmation.

Glen McCurdie, Scott Smith and Dan MacKenzie, duly sworn in, made statements and, with the other witnesses, duly sworn in, answered questions.

At 12:12 p.m., John Nater took the Chair.

At 12:33 p.m., Hedy Fry took the Chair.

At 1:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Barry F. Lorenzetti made a statement and answered questions.

On motion of Sébastien Lemire, it was agreed, — That a representative of each party be allotted one minute each, to make a closing statement.

At 3:07 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Justin Vaive
Committee clerk