Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 23
Tuesday, May 24, 2022, 11:09 a.m. to 4:34 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Ted Falk for Rachael Thomas (Conservative)
• Martin Shields for Kevin Waugh (Conservative)
• Cathay Wagantall for Rachael Thomas (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Irene Berkowitz, Senior Policy Fellow, Audience Lab, The Creative School, Toronto Metropolitan University
• Peter Menzies
• Alain Saulnier, Author and Retired Professor of Communication from Université de Montréal
Association québécoise de l'industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo
• Eve Paré, Executive Director
• Marie-Julie Desrochers, Director, Institutional Affairs and Research
Coalition for the Diversity of Cultural Expressions
• Nathalie Guay, Executive Director
• Bill Skolnik, Co-Chair
Corus Entertainment Inc.
• Troy Reeb, Executive Vice-President, Broadcast Networks
• Matthew Hatfield, Campaigns Director
OUTtv Network Inc.
• Brad Danks, Chief Executive Officer
Professional Music Publishers' Association
• Jérôme Payette, Executive Director
Quebec English-language Production Council
• Kirwan Cox, Executive Director
• Kenneth Hirsch, Co-Chair
Skyship Entertainment Company
• Morghan Fortier, Chief Executive Officer
• Olivier Carrière, Assistant to the Quebec Director
• Randy Kitt, Director of Media
University of Ottawa
• Dr. Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair of Internet and E-commerce Law, Professor of Law
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, May 12, 2022, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

Peter Menzies, Troy Reeb, Brad Danks, Jérôme Payette, Morghan Fortier, and Dr. Michael Geist made statements and answered questions.

At 12:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Dr. Irene Berkowitz, Alain Saulnier Nathalie Guay and Bill Skolnik made statements and answered questions.

At 2:08 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Eve Paré, Matthew Hatfield, Kirwan Cox, Kenneth Hirsch, Randy Kitt, and Olivier Carrière, made statements and, with Marie-Julie Desrochers, answered questions.

At 4:34 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the committee