Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 110
Tuesday, February 13, 2024, 4:02 p.m. to 5:59 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Liane Tanguay, Analyst
As an individual
• Sue Gardner, McConnell Professor of Practice, Max Bell School of Public Policy, McGill University (2021-2022)
• Jen Gerson, Co-founder of The Line and Independent Journalist
• April Lindgren, Professor, Toronto Metropolitan University School of Journalism
Canadian Media Guild
• Annick Forest, National Union President
Centre d'études sur les médias
• Colette Brin, Professor, Department of Information and Communication, Laval University
École supérieure en Art et Technologie des médias du Cégep de Jonquière
• Jaky Fortin, Assistant director of studies and student life
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, December 7, 2023, the committee commenced its study of a national forum on the media.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.


Taleeb Noormohamed moved, — Given announced plans to layoff 4,800 employees, Bell Canada Enterprises’ largest such set of layoffs in nearly 30 years, directly impacting a minimum of 4800 families across Canada and significantly harming access in Canada to local journalism and thus significantly damaging the democratic discourse, pursuant to standing order 108(2), the committee call on the executive leadership of Bell Canada Enterprises (BCE) to testify for a minimum of two hours to discuss the announced cuts.

The meeting should take place no later than March 1, 2024, and witnesses called are Mirko Bibic, President and CEO, BCE Inc. and Bell Canada; Sean Cohan, President Bell Media; Blaik Kirby, Group President, Consumer and Small and Medium Business, Curtis Millen, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, BCE and Bell Canada; Karine Moses, Senior Vice President, Content Development and News and Vice Chair, Québec; and Nikki Moffat, Executive Vice President, Corporate Services, and Chief Human Resources Officer .

Debate arose thereon.


Niki Ashton moved, — That the motion be amended by adding, at the end of the current text, the following: “The committee also calls on the Minister of Heritage and the Minister of Industry for 1 hour each to explain their response to these devastating job cuts that will affect thousands of workers, the fight against disinformation and access to local news for communities across the country.”.

At 5:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:43 p.m., the sitting resumed.

After debate, the question was put on the amendment of Niki Ashton and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Niki Ashton, Jacques Gourde, Martin Shields, Rachael Thomas, Kevin Waugh — 5;

NAYS: Martin Champoux, Michael Coteau, Anju Dhillon, Anna Gainey, Patricia Lattanzio, Taleeb Noormohamed — 6.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Niki Ashton, Martin Champoux, Michael Coteau, Anju Dhillon, Anna Gainey, Patricia Lattanzio, Taleeb Noormohamed — 7;

NAYS: — 0.

It was agreed, — That any requested changes to the draft budget respecting the committee’s proposed travel in relation to its study of Diversity of Canada’s Culture, Arts and Heritage be sent to the clerk of the committee by noon on Wednesday, February 14, 2024.

At 5:59 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Geneviève Desjardins
Clerk of the committee