Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 106
Tuesday, January 30, 2024, 4:26 p.m. to 6:31 p.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Luc Berthold for Martin Shields (Conservative)
• Peter Julian for Niki Ashton (NDP)
• Philip Lawrence for Kevin Waugh (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Liane Tanguay, Analyst
• Catherine Tait, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Dany Meloul, Executive Vice-President, Radio-Canada
• Barbara Williams, Executive Vice-President, CBC
• Marco Dubé, Chief Transformation Officer and Executive Vice-President, People and Culture
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(1)(a) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, December 7, 2023, the committee commenced its study of job cuts announced at CBC/Radio-Canada.

Catherine Tait made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Rachael Thomas moved, — That, no later than April 1st 2024, the CBC provide the committee with the number of executive bonuses given, and the monetary amount of each for the fiscal year of 2023.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Luc Berthold, Marilyn Gladu, Philip Lawrence, Rachael Thomas — 4;

NAYS: Martin Champoux, Michael Coteau, Anju Dhillon, Anna Gainey, Lisa Hepfner, Peter Julian, Taleeb Noormohamed — 7.

At 6:31 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Geneviève Desjardins
Clerk of the committee