Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 102
Thursday, November 30, 2023, 8:25 a.m. to 10:22 a.m.
Hon. Hedy Fry, Chair (Liberal)

• Sébastien Lemire for Martin Champoux (Bloc Québécois)
• Chris Lewis for Marilyn Gladu (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Liane Tanguay, Analyst
• Hon. Pascale St-Onge, P.C., M.P., Minister of Canadian Heritage
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Isabelle Mondou, Deputy Minister
• Thomas Owen Ripley, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs
• Joëlle Montminy, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs
• David Dendooven, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy, Planning and Corporate Affairs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, September 28, 2023, the committee proceeded to a briefing with the Minister of Canadian Heritage on his Mandate.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

A point of order was raised as to the procedural admissibility of requesting responses in a specific language.


The Chair ruled that witnesses may respond to questions in the official language of their choice.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 9:40 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:44 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 10:22 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Geneviève Desjardins
Clerk of the committee