Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 74
Thursday, October 5, 2023, 8:15 a.m. to 10:20 a.m.
John Barlow, Vice-Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Corentin Bialais, Analyst
• Daniel Farrelly, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Jodi Lazare, Associate Professor
Animal Justice
• Camille Labchuk, Executive Director
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
• Dr. Mary Jane Ireland, Executive Director, Animal Health Directorate, Chief Veterinary Officer for Canada
• Dr. Rick James-Davies, Director General, Western Operations
Canadian Pork Council
• René Roy, Chair
• Ray Binnendyk, Member, Owner of Excelsior Hog Farm Ltd.
Dairy Farmers of Canada
• David Wiens, President
• Daniel Gobeil, Vice-President
Humane Canada
• Dr. Toolika Rastogi, Senior Manager, Policy and Research
• Erin Martellani, Campaign Manager, Animal Advocacy, Montreal SPCA
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, June 21, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-275, An Act to amend the Health of Animals Act (biosecurity on farms).

Jodi Lazare, Camille Labchuk and Mary Jane Ireland made statements and, with Rick James-Davies, answered questions.

At 9:18 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:25 a.m., the sitting resumed.

René Roy, David Wiens, Daniel Gobeil, Erin Martellani, Toolika Rastogi and Ray Binnendyk made statements and answered questions.

At 10:20 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stéphanie De Rome
Clerk of the committee