Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 32
Wednesday, October 19, 2022, 5:02 p.m. to 7:02 p.m.
Kody Blois, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Josée Harrison, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Daniel Farrelly, Analyst
The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $18,125, for the study of Bill C-234, An Act to amend the Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act, be adopted.

As an individual
• Ted Menzies
Canadian National Railway Company
• Doug MacDonald, Chief Marketing Officer
Ontario Agri Business Association
• Russel Hurst, Executive Director
Ontario Federation of Agriculture
• Peggy Brekveld, President
Protein Industries Canada
• William Greuel, Chief Executive Officer
Union des producteurs agricoles
• Martin Caron, General President
• David Tougas, Coordinator, Business Economics
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, May 30, 2022, the committee resumed its study of global food insecurity.

Doug MacDonald, Peggy Brekveld and Martin Caron made statements and, with David Tougas, answered questions.

At 6:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:06 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Ted Menzies, Russel Hurst and William Greuel made statements and answered questions.

At 7:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Lafleur
Committee clerk