Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 2
Tuesday, December 21, 2021, 3:32 p.m. to 5:46 p.m.
Kody Blois, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Daniel Farrelly, Analyst
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
• Siddika Mithani, President
• Sylvie Lapointe, Vice-President, Policy and Programs Branch
• David Bailey, Acting Executive Director, Policy and Programs Branch
Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food
• Tom Rosser, Assistant Deputy Minister
Government of Prince Edward Island
• Brian Matheson, Deputy Minister, Department of Agriculture and Land
• Carolyn Sanford, Director, Animal Health, Regulatory, and Analytical Laboratories, Department of Agriculture and Land
Prince Edward Island Potato Board
• Greg Donald, General Manager
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, December 16, 2021, the committee proceeded to a briefing on the interim suspension of certification of all potatoes originating from Prince Edward Island to the United States.

Siddika Mithani and Brian Matheson made statements and, with Sylvie Lapointe, David Bailey and Carolyn Sanford, answered questions.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Tom Rosser and Greg Donald made statements and answered questions.

At 5:46 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Benoit Jolicoeur
Clerk of the Committee