Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 5
Thursday, November 5, 2020, 11:05 a.m. to 1:06 p.m.
Iqra Khalid, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Mike Lake for Hon. Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay (Conservative)
• Luc Thériault for Rhéal Éloi Fortin (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Julia Nicol, Analyst
Canadian Association of MAiD Assessors and Providers
• Dr. Stefanie Green, President
Canadian Medical Association
• Dr. Ann Collins, President
• Cécile Bensimon, Director, Ethics and Professional Affairs
Commission on End-of-Life Care
• Dr. Michel Bureau, Chair
• Dr. David Lussier, Commissioner
• Pierre Deschamps, Lawyer
• Stéphanie Goulet, General Secretary
Ménard, Martin, Avocats
• Jean-Pierre Ménard, Lawyer
As an individual
• Dr. Serge Gauthier, Neurologist and Professor, Departments of Neurology, Psychiatry, and Medicine, McGill University
• Dr. Mona Gupta, Psychiatrist and Associate Professor, Centre de recherche du CHUM
• Dr. Leonie Herx, Palliative Medicine Consultant
Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
• Dr. Tarek Rajji, Chief, Geriatric Psychiatry
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, October 29, 2020, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-7, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (medical assistance in dying).

Stefanie Green, Ann Collins, Michel Bureau and Jean-Pierre Ménard made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 11:58 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Serge Gauthier, Mona Gupta, Leonie Herx and Tarek Rajji made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Arif Virani moved, — That the committee continue to sit beyond 1:00 p.m. in order to complete the current round of questions.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Mike Kelloway, James Maloney, Ramesh Sangha, Luc Thériault, Arif Virani, Sameer Zuberi — 6;

NAYS: Michael Cooper, Randall Garrison, Mike Lake, Chris Lewis, Rob Moore — 5.

At 1:06 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee