Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 25
Tuesday, March 30, 2021, 11:02 a.m. to 1:02 p.m.
Bob Bratina, Chair (Liberal)

• Ziad Aboultaif for Arnold Viersen (Conservative)
• Leah Gazan for Rachel Blaney (NDP)
• Marilène Gill for Sylvie Bérubé (Bloc Québécois)
• Greg McLean for Jamie Schmale (Conservative)
• Christine Normandin for Rachel Blaney (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
Amnistie internationale Canada francophone
• France-Isabelle Langlois, Executive Director
• Colette Lelièvre, Responsible for campaigns
As an individual
• Paul Joffe, Lawyer
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
• Brian Schmidt, President and Chief Executive Officer, Tamarack Valley Energy
• Shannon Joseph, Vice-President, Government Relations and Indigenous Affairs
First Nations Major Projects Coalition
• Mark Podlasly, Director, Economic Policy
Indian Resource Council Inc.
• Stephen Buffalo, President
Mining Association of Canada
• Kara Flynn, Vice-President, Government and Public Affairs, Syncrude Canada
• Tara Shea, Senior Director, Regulatory and Indigenous Affairs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the committee resumed consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-15, An Act respecting the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Mark Podlasly, Tara Shea and Stephen Buffalo made statements and, with Kara Flynn, answered questions.

At 12:05 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:16 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

Paul Joffe, France-Isabelle Langlois and Brian Schmidt made statements and answered questions.

At 1:02 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee