Skip to main content Start of content

ETHI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 21
Monday, February 22, 2021, 11:06 a.m. to 1:59 p.m.
Brenda Shanahan, Vice-Chair (Liberal)

• Peter Schiefke for Greg Fergus (Liberal)
• Shannon Stubbs for Colin Carrie (Conservative)
• Arnold Viersen for Michael Barrett (Conservative)
• Cathay Wagantall for Colin Carrie (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Alexandra Savoie, Analyst
• Ryan van den Berg, Analyst
Canadian Centre for Child Protection
• Lianna McDonald, Executive Director
• Lloyd Richardson, Director, Information Technology
Friends of Canadian Broadcasting
• Daniel Bernhard, Executive Director
National Center for Missing & Exploited Children
• John F. Clark, President and Chief Executive Officer
Department of Justice
• Normand Wong, Senior Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• D/Commr Stephen White, Deputy Commissioner, Specialized Policing Services
• C/Supt Marie-Claude Arsenault
• Paul Boudreau, Executive Director, Technical Operations, Specialized Policing Services
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(h) and the motion adopted by the committee on Friday, December 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study on the protection of privacy and reputation on platforms such as Pornhub.

Lianna McDonald, Daniel Bernhard, and John F. Clark made statements and, with Lloyd Richardson, answered questions.

At 12:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Stephen White made a statement and, with Marie-Claude Arsenault, Paul Boudreau and Normand Wong, answered questions.

At 1:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:44 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

At 1:59 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee