Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 33
Wednesday, May 19, 2021, 2:30 p.m. to 5:32 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Natacha Kramski, Analyst
As an individual
• Paul Fauteux, Attorney and Accredited Mediator and Arbitrator
• Robert McLeman, Professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies, Wilfrid Laurier University
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
• Shannon Joseph, Vice-President, Government Relations and Indigenous Affairs
Climate Action Network Canada
• Caroline Brouillette, Policy Analyst
David Suzuki Foundation
• Sabaa Khan, Director General, Quebec and Atlantic Canada
For Our Kids Montreal / Mothers Step In
• Kelly Marie Martin, Doctor and Epidemiologist
• Laure Waridel, Co-Instigator, Eco-sociologist, Adjunct Professor at Université du Québec à Montréal
• Marc-André Viau, Director, Government Relations
• Émile Boisseau-Bouvier, Analyst, Climate Policy and Ecological Transition
Pulse Canada
• Corey Loessin, Farmer and Chair
• Greg Northey, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs
Québec Environmental Law Centre
• Geneviève Paul, Executive Director
The Transition Accelerator
• James Meadowcroft, Professor, School of Public Policy, Carleton University
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 4, 2021, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-12, An Act respecting transparency and accountability in Canada's efforts to achieve net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by the year 2050.

Robert McLeman, Caroline Brouillette, Marc-André Viau, Émile Boisseau-Bouvier, Kelly Marie Martin and Corey Loessin made statements and with Greg Northey and Laure Waridel, answered questions.

At 3:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Paul Fauteux, Shannon Joseph, Sabaa Khan, Geneviève Paul and James Meadowcroft made statements and answered questions.

At 5:32 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee