Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 32
Monday, May 17, 2021, 2:30 p.m. to 5:37 p.m.
Francis Scarpaleggia, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Ross Linden-Fraser, Analyst
The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the members of the committee submit to the clerk all of their proposed amendments to Bill C-12 no later than 5:00 p.m. (ET) on Friday, May 21, 2021.

• Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson, P.C., M.P., Minister of Environment and Climate Change
As an individual
• Christie McLeod
Association québécoise de médecins pour l'environnement
• Dr. Claudel Pétrin-Desrosiers, Resident Physician and President
Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment
• Dr. Courtney Howard, Emergency Physician and Planetary Health Researcher and Policy Worker
Canadian Cattlemen's Association
• Fawn Jackson, Director, Policy and International Relations
• Dr. Reynold Bergen, Science Director, Beef Cattle Research Council
Department of Finance
• Samuel Millar, Director General, Corporate Finance, Natural Resources and Environment, Economic Development and Corporate Finance
Department of the Environment
• John Moffet, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Branch
• Douglas Nevison, Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change Branch
• Alan Andrews, Climate Program Director
West Coast Environmental Law Association
• Andrew Gage, Staff Counsel
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 4, 2021, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-12, An Act respecting transparency and accountability in Canada's efforts to achieve net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by the year 2050.

The Minister made a statement and, with Samuel Millar, John Moffet and Douglas Nevison, answered questions.

At 4:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Christie McLeod, Claudel Pétrin-Desrosiers, Reynold Bergen, Alan Andrews and Andrew Gage made statements and, with Courtney Howard and Fawn Jackson, answered questions.

At 4:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:13 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 5:37 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee