Skip to main content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 9
Monday, November 30, 2020, 3:35 p.m. to 5:52 p.m.
Salma Zahid, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Aimée Belmore, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Martin McCallum, Analyst
• Graeme McConnell, Analyst
Accueil Liaison pour Arrivants
• Yannick Boucher, Director, Services for Immigrants
• Marie-Laure Konan, Director, Occupational Integration
Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic
• Avvy Yao-Yao Go, Clinic Director
Don Valley Community Legal Services
• Nicole Guthrie, Lawyer, Immigration
Laurentian University
• Robert Haché, President and Vice-Chancellor
Chercheuses de résidence permanente
• Roxane Hatem, Representative
• Armelle Mara, Representative
Spousal Sponsorship Advocates
• Misha Pelletier, Representative
As an individual
• Gideon Christian, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Calgary
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the motion adopted by the House on Wednesday, September 23, 2020, and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, October 20, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the impact of COVID-19 on the immigration system.

Gideon Christian, Yannick Boucher, Marie-Laure Konan and Avvy Yao-Yao Go made statements and answered questions.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:44 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Roxane Hatem, Armelle Mara, Nicole Guthrie, Robert Haché and Misha Pelletier made statements and answered questions.

At 5:52 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee