Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 16
Monday, February 22, 2021, 11:02 a.m. to 1:11 p.m.

Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
• Hon. Mary Ng, P.C., M.P., Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade
Canadian Chamber of Commerce
• Mark Agnew, Vice-President, Policy and International
Hensall District Co-Operative Inc
• Brad Chandler, Chief Executive Officer and President
International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers in Canada
• David Chartrand, Québec Coordinator
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Doug Forsyth, Director General for Market Access and Chief Negotiator, Canada-United Kingdom Trade Continuity Agreement
• Torsten Ström, General Counsel, Trade Law Bureau
• Allison Trenholm, Deputy Chief Negotiator, Canada-United Kingdom, Trade Continuity Agreement
Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food
• Aaron Fowler, Chief Agriculture Negotiator and Director General, Trade Agreements and Negotiations
Trade Justice Network
• Angella MacEwen, Co-Chair
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, February 1, 2021, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-18, An Act to implement the Agreement on Trade Continuity between Canada and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Chartrand, Mark Agnew, Brad Chandler and Angela MacEwen made statements and answered questions.

At 1:11 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee