Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 9
Monday, November 30, 2020, 11:01 a.m. to 1:08 p.m.
Scott Simms, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
Catherine C. Cole & Associates
• Catherine C. Cole, Principal Consultant
Regroupement des festivals régionaux artistiques indépendants
• Clément Turgeon Thériault, Director General
Réseau indépendant des diffuseurs d'événements artistiques unis
• Julie-Anne Richard, Director General
Arts Commons
• Alex Sarian, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Association for the Performing Arts
• Frédéric Julien, Director, Research and Development
• Elio Antunes, President and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Friday, October 23, 2020, the committee commenced its study of the challenges and issues faced by the arts, culture, heritage and sport sectors during the COVID-19 pandemic.

At 11:04 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:05 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Catherine Cole, Clément Turgeon Thériault and Julie-Anne Richard made statements and answered questions.

At 12:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Alex Sarian, Frédéric Julien and Elio Antunes made statements and answered questions.

At 1:08 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Bigelow
Clerk of the Committee