Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 41
Wednesday, June 9, 2021, 4:50 p.m. to 8:52 p.m.
Scott Simms, Chair (Liberal)

• Mel Arnold for Kevin Waugh (Conservative)
• Peter Fonseca for Lyne Bessette (Liberal)
• Garnett Genuis for Martin Shields (Conservative)
• Annie Koutrakis for Marci Ien (Liberal)
• Hon. Michelle Rempel Garner for Scott Aitchison (Conservative)
• Maninder Sidhu for Lyne Bessette (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
• Nancy Vohl, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Gabrielle de Billy Brown, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
Department of Canadian Heritage
• Thomas Owen Ripley, Director General, Broadcasting, Copyright and Creative Marketplace Branch
• Drew Olsen, Senior Director, Marketplace and Legislative Policy
• Kathy Tsui, Manager, Industrial and Social Policy, Broadcasting, Copyright and Creative Marketplace Branch
• Patrick Smith, Senior Analyst, Marketplace and Legislative Policy
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, February 16, 2021, and of Monday, June 7, 2021, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-10, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

At 4:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Thomas Owen Ripley answered questions.

The committee resumed its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.

The Committee resumed clause-by-clause consideration on Clause 7 of the Bill, as amended.

The Committee resumed consideration of the amendment of Martin Shields, — That Bill C-10, in Clause 7, be amended by adding after line 19 on page 8 the following:

“9.2 (1) This Act does not apply in respect of online undertakings that have fewer than 500,000 subscribers in Canada or receive less than $80 million per year in advertising, subscription, usage or membership revenues in Canada from the transmission or retransmission of programs over the Internet.

(2) Every two years after the day on which subsection (1) comes into force, the Commission must, with the approval of the Governor in Council, review the subscriber and revenue thresholds and may make regulations to increase them as required.

(3) The Minister must prepare a report on the Commission's review under subsection (2) and submit the report to the standing committee of each House of Parliament that normally considers matters relating to broadcasting.”

After debate, the question was put on the amendment of Martin Shields and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Garnett Genuis, Alain Rayes, Kevin Waugh — 3;

NAYS: Alexandre Boulerice, Martin Champoux, Julie Dabrusin, Marci Ien, Tim Louis, Maninder Sidhu, Ryan Turnbull — 7.

Alain Rayes moved, — That Bill C-10, in Clause 7, be amended by adding after line 19 on page 8 the following:

“9.2 An online undertaking that provides a social media service is deemed not to exercise programming control over programs uploaded by any user of the social media service who is not the provider of the service or the provider’s affiliate, or the agent or mandatary of either of them.”

Debate arose thereon.

At 7:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:15 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Garnett Genuis moved, — That the committee do now adjourn.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Martin Champoux, Julie Dabrusin, Garnett Genuis, Anthony Housefather, Annie Koutrakis, Tim Louis, Heather McPherson, Jennifer O'Connell, Alain Rayes, Kevin Waugh — 10;

NAYS: — 0.

At 8:52 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the Committee