Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 9
Thursday, July 23, 2020, 2:02 p.m. to 4:24 p.m.
Hon. John McKay (Liberal)

• Luc Berthold for Pierre Paul-Hus (Conservative)
• Greg Fergus for Angelo Iacono (Liberal)
• Hon. Tim Uppal for Marc Dalton (Conservative)
• Gary Vidal for Doug Shipley (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Robin Whitehead, Analyst
House of Commons
• Jolène Savoie-Day, Procedural Clerk
Native Counselling Services of Alberta
• Allen Benson, Chief Executive Officer
Kwanlin Dün First Nation
• Doris Bill
Indigenous Police Chiefs of Ontario
• Terry McCaffrey, President, and Chief of Police, Wikwemikong Tribal Police Service
Assembly of First Nations Quebec-Labrador
• Ghislain Picard
Native Child and Family Services of Toronto
• Jeffrey Schiffer, Executive Director
As an individual
• Akwasi Owusu-Bempah, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Toronto
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, June 23, 2020, the committee resumed its study of systemic racism in policing services in Canada.

Ghislain Picard, Terry McCaffrey and Doris Bill made statements and answered questions.

At 3:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jeffrey Schiffer, Akwasi Owusu-Bempah and Allen Benson made statements and answered questions.

At 4:24 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee