Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 8
Thursday, July 23, 2020, 11:05 a.m. to 1:31 p.m.
Hon. John McKay (Liberal)

• Luc Berthold for Pierre Paul-Hus (Conservative)
• Greg Fergus for Angelo Iacono (Liberal)
• Hon. Tim Uppal for Marc Dalton (Conservative)
• Gary Vidal for Doug Shipley (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Robin Whitehead, Analyst
House of Commons
• Jolène Savoie-Day, Procedural Clerk
Legal Services Board of Nunavut
• Benson Cowan, Chief Executive Officer
Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.
• Aluki Kotierk, President
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
• Natan Obed, President
British Columbia Assembly of First Nations
• Terry Teegee, Regional Chief
• Hon. Vernon Darryl White, Senator, CPC
As an individual
• Robert S. Wright, Social Worker and Sociologist
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, June 23, 2020, the committee commenced its study of systemic racism in policing services in Canada.


Jack Harris moved, — That, in relation to the committee’s study of systemic racism in policing services in Canada and notwithstanding the motion adopted on February 20, 2020 concerning the questioning of witnesses, for the remainder of this study the rotation for questions be conducted as follows:

Round one – six-minutes per party in the usual order (Conservatives, Liberal, Bloc Québécois and NDP) for a total of 24 minutes, followed by round two – three minutes each for the Conservatives, Liberals, Conservatives, Liberals and 1.5 minutes each for the Bloc and the NDP for a total of 15 minutes and a grand total of 60 minutes (21 minutes having been allocated for opening statements by witnesses).

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Gary Anandasangaree, Luc Berthold, Pam Damoff, Greg Fergus, Jack Harris, Kamal Khera, John McKay, Kristina Michaud, Rob Morrison, Gagan Sikand, Tim Uppal, Gary Vidal — 12;

NAYS: — 0.

Terry Teegee, Natan Obed and Aluki Kotierk made statements and answered questions.

At 12:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:20 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Hon. Vernon Darryl White, Benson Cowan and Robert S. Wright made statements and answered questions.

At 1:31 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee