Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 3
Thursday, February 27, 2020, 8:43 a.m. to 10:44 a.m.
Hon. John McKay (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Holly Porteous, Analyst
• Robin Whitehead, Analyst
House of Commons
• Miriam Burke, Procedural Clerk
• Hon. Bill Blair, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
• Patrick Amyot, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Management Branch and Chief Financial Officer
• Monik Beauregard, Associate Deputy Minister
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Brenda Lucki, Commissioner
• Brian Brennan, Deputy Commissioner, Contract and Indigenous Policing
Correctional Service of Canada
• Anne Kelly, Commissioner
• Alain Tousignant, Senior Deputy Commissioner
Canadian Security Intelligence Service
• Michelle Tessier, Deputy Director, Operations
Parole Board of Canada
• Anik Lapointe, Chief Financial Officer and Director, Finance and Planning
• Jennifer Oades, Chairperson
Canada Border Services Agency
• Jonathan Moor, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, Finance and Corporate Management Branch
• John Ossowski, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B), 2019-20: Vote 1b under Canada Border Services Agency, Vote 1b under Canadian Security Intelligence Service, Vote 1b under Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Vote 1b under Parole Board of Canada, Votes 1b and 5b under Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Vote 1b under Royal Canadian Mounted Police External Review Committee, referred to the committee on Tuesday, February 19, 200.

The Minister made a statement and, with Brenda Lucki, answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:50 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Patrick Amyot, Brenda Lucki, John Ossowski, Anne Kelly, Monik Beauregard, Jennifer Oades, Jonathan Moor and Michelle Tessier answered questions.

At 10:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee