Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 47
Thursday, July 30, 2020, 3:02 p.m. to 6:56 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Charlie Angus (NDP)
• Michael Barrett (Conservative)
• Marie-Hélène Gaudreau (Bloc Québécois)
• Francesco Sorbara (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Leif-Erik Aune, Procedural Clerk
• Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Brett Capwell, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
• Right Hon. Justin Trudeau, P.C., M.P., Prime Minister
Office of the Prime Minister
• Katie Telford, Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 26, 2020 and the motion adopted by the committee on July 7, 2020, the committee resumed its study of government spending, WE Charity and the Canada Student Service Grant.

The Prime Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:11 p.m., Hon. Pierre Poilièvre took the Chair.

At 4:13 p.m., Hon. Wayne Easter took the Chair.

The Prime Minister answered questions.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Katie Telford made a statement and answered questions.


Pierre Poilievre moved, — That the Prime Minister’s office release to the committee by the end of the next calendar week the names of all staff from the Prime Ministers’ Office who communicated with WE Charity, the Kielburger brothers, or any affiliates of the WE Charity, since March 1, and that the Prime Minister’s Office provide the dates, participants, and contents of those meetings, including the cabinet memos for May 8th and May 22nd concerning the WE Charity recommendations.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Michael Cooper, James Cumming, Rhéal Éloi Fortin, Peter Julian, Marty Morantz, Pierre Poilievre — 6;

NAYS: Julie Dzerowicz, Peter Fragiskatos, Sean Fraser, Annie Koutrakis, Michael V. McLeod — 5.

At 6:56 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Caroline Bosc
Committee Clerk