Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 32
Thursday, May 28, 2020, 3:00 p.m. to 7:05 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe (Bloc Québécois)
• Elizabeth May (Green Party)
Library of Parliament
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
• Hon. Mona Fortier, Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance
Canadian Gas Association
• Timothy Egan, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Marc-André Viau, Director, Government Relations
• Caroline Brouillette, Policy Analyst, Energy and Climate Change
Explorers and Producers Association of Canada
• Tristan Goodman, President
Lloydminster Oilfield Technical Society
• Adam S. Waterman, President
Mining Association of Canada
• Pierre Gratton, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Brendan Marshall, Vice-President, Economic and Northern Affairs
Morgan Construction and Environmental Ltd.
• Peter Kiss, President and Chief Executive Officer
Shell Canada Limited
• Michael Crothers, President and Country Chair
Department of Finance
• Paul Rochon, Deputy Minister
• Andrew Marsland, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch
• Evelyn Dancey, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development and Corporate Finance Branch
• Soren Halverson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch
• Alison McDermott, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch
• Suzy McDonald, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch
Canada Revenue Agency
• Frank Vermaeten, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment, Benefit and Service Branch
• Ted Gallivan, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Programs Branch
• Geoff Trueman, Assistant Commissioner, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch
Department of Employment and Social Development
• Alexis Conrad, Assistant Deputy Minister, Learning Branch
• Cliff C. Groen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Service Canada - Benefit Delivery Services Branch
• Elisha Ram, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Skills and Employment Branch
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Tuesday, March 24, Saturday, April 11, and Tuesday, May 26, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Timothy Egan, Marc-André Viau, Caroline Brouillette, Tristan Goodman, Adam Waterman, Pierre Gratton, Brendan Marshall, Peter Kiss and Michael Crothers on the panel on Oil and Gas made statements and answered questions.

At 5:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:20 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The minister made a statement, and, with Soren Halverson, Cliff C. Groen, Elisha Ram, Suzy McDonald, Andrew Marsland, Alison McDermott and Geoff Trueman, answered questions.

At 7:05 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Committee Clerk