Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 24
Friday, May 1, 2020, 2:08 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe (Bloc Québécois)
• Andréanne Larouche (Bloc Québécois)
• Elizabeth May (Green Party)
House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
• Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
As an individual
• Jeffrey Booth, Entrepreneur and Author
Canadian Horticultural Council
• Brian Gilroy, President
• Jan VanderHout, Vice-President
City of Winnipeg
• Scott Gillingham, Councillor and Chair of the Standing Policy Committee on Finance
Imagine Canada
• Bruce MacDonald, President and Chief Executive Officer
Migrant Workers Centre
• Natalie Drolet, Executive Director and Staff Lawyer
MTY Food Group Inc.
• Jason Brading, Chief Operating Officer, Quick Service Restaurants
Prince Edward Island Potato Board
• Jason Webster, Potato Farmer
Canadian Airports Council
• Joyce Carter, Chair
• Roelof-Jan Steenstra, Vice-Chair
Canadian Association of Oilwell Drilling Contractors
• Mark A. Scholz, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Dental Association
• Jim Armstrong, President
Canadian Mushroom Growers' Association
• Ryan Koeslag, Vice-President and Chief Executive Officer
• Janet Krayden, Workforce Expert
Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
• Joy Thomas, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Bruce Ball, Vice-President, Taxation
Réseau FADOQ
• Gisèle Tassé-Goodman, President, Provincial Secretariat
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Tuesday, March 24, and Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Jeffrey Booth, Brian Gilroy, Jan VanderHout, Scott Gillingham, Bruce MacDonald, Natalie Drolet, Jason Brading and Jason Webster made statements and answered questions.

At 3:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:09 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Joyce Carter, Mark Schloz, Jim Armstrong, Ryan Koeslag, Janet Krayden, Joy Thomas, Gisèle Tassé-Goodman on the panel on Support for Canadians Not Eligible for Existing Measures made statements and, with Roelof-Jan Steenstra and Bruce Ball, answered questions.

At 6:00 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee