Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 21
Thursday, April 23, 2020, 2:05 p.m. to 6:04 p.m.
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Christine Lafrance, Procedural Clerk
• Alexandre Roger, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Brett Capwell, Analyst
• Michaël Lambert-Racine, Analyst
Javaroma Gourmet Coffee and Tea
• Rami Kassem, President
Manitoba Restaurant and Food Services Association
• Shaun Jeffrey, Executive Director
Oliver and Bonacini Hospitality
• Andrew Oliver, President and Chief Executive Officer
Restaurants Canada
• David B. Lefebvre, Vice-President, Federal and Québec Affairs
Superior Lodging Corp
• Marc Staniloff, Owner
Tourism Industry Association of Prince Edward Island
• Rose Dennis, Second Vice-President and Executive Director of Explore Summerside
As an individual
• Salah Elsaadi, Business Owner
Canadian Cattlemen's Association
• Bob Lowe, President
• Dennis Laycraft, Executive Vice-President
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Daniel Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Pork Council
• Rick Bergmann, Chair of the Board of Directors
• René Roy, First Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors
Sentiom Inc.
• Mathieu Lachaîne, Chief Technical Officer
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Tuesday, March 24, and Saturday, April 11, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Rami Kassem, Shaun Jeffrey, Andrew Oliver, David B. Lefebvre, Marc Staniloff and Rose Dennis on a panel on Hospitality Industry made statements and answered questions.

At 3:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Salah Elsaadi, Bob Lowe, Daniel Kelly, Rick Bergmann and Matthieu Lachaîne on a panel on Owner-operators and, with Dennis Laycraft and René Roy, made statements and answered questions.

At 6:04 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee