Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 18
Thursday, April 9, 2020, 2:05 p.m. to 6:05 p.m.
Audio Only
Hon. Wayne Easter, Chair (Liberal)

• Sébastien Lemire (Bloc Québécois)
• Elizabeth May (Green Party)
House of Commons
• Caroline Bosc, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Andrew Barton, Analyst
• Sylvain Fleury, Analyst
Canadian Chamber of Commerce
• Susanna Cluff-Clyburne, Senior Director, Parliamentary Affairs
• Leah Nord, Director, Workforce Strategies and Inclusive Growth
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Daniel Kelly, President and Chief Executive Officer
Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec
• Charles Milliard, Chief Executive Officer
• Alexandre Gagnon, Director, Labour and Occupational Health and Safety
Moodys Tax Law LLP
• Kim G.C. Moody, Chief Executive Officer and Director, Canadian Tax Advisory
Quebec Employers' Council
• Yves-Thomas Dorval, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Bankers Association
• Neil Parmenter, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Darren Hannah, Vice-President, Finance, Risk and Prudential Policy
Canadian Credit Union Association
• Martha Durdin, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Michael Hatch, Vice-President, Government Relations
Canoe Financial
• W. Brett Wilson, Chairman
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
• David Macdonald, Senior Economist
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, March 24, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Government’s Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Susanna Cluff-Clyburne, Leah Nord, Daniel Kelly, Charles Milliard, Kim Moody and Yves-Thomas Dorval on panel on Small and Medium-Sized Businesses made statements and, with Alexandre Gagnon, answered questions.

At 3:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Neil Parmenter and Martha Durdin on panel on Financial and Banking made statements and, with Michael Hatch, answered questions.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Brett Wilson and David Macdonald on panel on Financial and Banking made statements and answered questions.

At 6:05 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

David Gagnon
Clerk of the Committee