Skip to main content Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 9
Tuesday, February 25, 2020, 9:02 a.m. to 1:31 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Caroline Bosc, Procedural Clerk
• Marie-France Lafleur, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
Canadian American Business Council
• Maryscott Greenwood, Chief Executive Officer
Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec
• Charles Milliard, Chief Executive Officer
• Kathy Megyery, Vice-President, Strategy and Economic Affairs
Music Publishers Canada
• Jennifer Mitchell, Director, Board of Directors
• Casey Chisick, Legal Counsel
Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada
• Andrea Kokonis, General Counsel
• Gilles Daigle, Consultant
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
• Stuart Trew, Researcher and Editor
Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Montreal
• Michel Leblanc, President and Chief Executive Officer
Dairy Processors Association of Canada
• Mathieu Frigon, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Dominique Benoit, Treasurer and member of the Board of Directors
As an individual
• Darren Erickson, Pharmacist Owner, Tofield PharmaChoice
• Gayleen Erickson, Business Owner, Guardian Pharmacy, Tofield Medical Clinic
Dairy Farmers of Manitoba
• David Wiens, Chair
Prima Dairy Farm
• Joel Prins, Partner
Saskatchewan Milk Marketing Board
• Matthew Flaman, Chair
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, February 6, 2020, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.

Maryscott Greenwood, by videoconference from Washington, D.C., Charles Milliard, by videoconference from Montréal, Quebec, Jennifer Mitchell, by teleconference from Toronto, Ontario, and Andrea Kokonis made statements and, with Kathy Megyery, Louis Lyonnais, by videoconference from Montréal, Quebec, and Gilles Daigle answered questions.

At 10:29 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:36 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Michel Leblanc, by videoconference from Montréal, Quebec, Stuart Trew, Mathieu Frigon and Dominique Benoit made statements and answered questions.

At 11:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

David Wiens, Joel Prins, Matthew Flaman, Darren Erickson and Gayleen Erickson made statements and answered questions.

At 1:31 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Committee Clerk