Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 8
Monday, February 24, 2020, 3:32 p.m. to 8:01 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Ed Fast for Randy Hoback (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
Canadian Canola Growers Association
• Dave Carey, Vice-President, Government and Industry Relations
• Rick White, President and Chief Executive Officer
Chemistry Industry Association of Canada
• David Cherniak, Senior Policy Analyst, Business and Economics
• Isabelle Des Chênes, Executive Vice-President
Dairy Farmers of Canada
• Christopher Cochlin, International Trade Legal Advisor, Cassidy Levy Kent LLP
• Pierre Lampron, President
• Jacques Lefebvre, Chief Executive Officer
National Cattle Feeders' Association
• Michel Daigle, Chair
• Janice Tranberg, President and Chief Executive Officer
As an individual
• Wietze Dykstra, Dairy Farmer
Canadian Federation of Agriculture
• Robert Friesen, Trade Policy Analyst
• Mary Robinson, President
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Jasmin Guénette, Vice-President, National Affairs
• Corinne Pohlmann, Senior Vice-President, National Affairs and Partnerships
Gay Lea Foods Co-operative Ltd.
• Rosemary MacLellan, Vice-President, Strategy and Industry Affairs
Retail Council of Canada
• Jason McLinton, Vice-President, Grocery Division and Regulatory Affairs
Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association
• Mark Nantais, President
Canadian Electricity Association
• Michael B. Powell, Director, Government Relations
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, February 6, 2020, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.

Wietze Dykstra, Mary Robinson, Mark Nantais and Pierre Lampron made statements.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the motion adopted Tuesday, February 18, 2020, no substantive motions be moved during the questioning of witnesses on Bill C-4.

Jacques Lefebvre, Christopher Cochlin, Robert Friesen, Mary Robinson, Pierre Lampron and Mark Nantais answered questions.

At 4:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jason McLinton, Isabelle Des Chênes, Jasmin Guénette, Corinne Pohlmann and Michael B. Powell made statements and, with David Cherniak, answered questions.

At 6:22 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Rick White, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Rosemary MacLellan, Michel Daigle and Janice Tranberg made statements and, with Dave Carey, answered questions.

At 8:01 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Committee Clerk