Skip to main content Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 7
Thursday, February 20, 2020, 10:03 a.m. to 1:32 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
• Alan Arcand, Chief Economist
• Matthew Poirier, Director of Policy
MLTC Industrial Investments LP
• Al Balisky, President & Chief Executive Officer
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
• Drew Dilkens, Member, Federation of Canadian Municipalities Big City Mayors Caucus, Mayor, Windsor
NorSask Forest Products LP
• Tracey Gorski, Manager, Sales and Marketing
Réseau québécois sur l'intégration continentale
• Normand Pépin, Union Advisor, Centrale des syndicats démocratiques
• Claude Vaillancourt, President, Association québécoise pour la taxation des transactions financières et pour l'action citoyenne
Canadian Global Affairs Institute
• Colin Robertson, Vice-President and Fellow
Assembly of First Nations
• Risa Schwartz, Legal Counsel
• Judy Whiteduck, Director, Economic Sector
Vitalus Nutrition
• Philip Vanderpol, President and Chief Executive Officer
As an individual
• Leo Blydorp
• Lawrence L. Herman, Counsel, Herman and Associates
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, February 6, 2020, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.

Philip Vanderpol, Colin Robertson, by videoconference from Bradenton, Florida, Al Balisky by videoconference, from Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Claude Vaillancourt and Normand Pépin made statements and, with Tracey Gorski, answered questions.

At 11:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:39 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Drew Dilkens,by videoconference from Windsor (Ontario), Lawrence L. Herman, by videoconference from Toronto (Ontario), Leo Blydorp, Judy Whiteduck, Risa Schwartz and Matthew Poirier made statements and, with Alan Arcand, answered questions.

At 1:32 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee