Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 6
Wednesday, February 19, 2020, 3:37 p.m. to 6:51 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
House of Commons
• Nathalie Caron, Senior Legislative Counsel
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
HTC CO2 Systems
• Todd Beasley, Vice-President
Teamsters Canada
• Phil Benson, Lobbyist
• Christopher Monette, Director, Public Affairs
Centro de Investigación Laboral y Asesoría Sindical
• Hector de la Cueva, General Coordinator
• Angelo DiCaro, Director of Research
Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers Canada
• Kevin Girdharry, Manager, Policy and Data Analysis
• Meagan Hatch, Director, Government Relations
Canadian Sugar Institute
• Sandra Marsden, President
IPEX Group of Companies
• Veso Sobot, Director, Corporate Affairs
Automotive Parts Manufacturers' Association
• Flavio Volpe, President
As an individual
• Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-Commerce Law, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, February 6, 2020, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.

Michael Geist, Sandra Marsden, Angelo DiCaro and Hector de la Cueva by videoconference from Mexico, Mexico, made statements and answered questions.

At 5:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Meagan Hatch, Stephen Beasley, Flavio Volpe, Veso Sobot, Phil Benson and Christopher Monette made statements and, with Kevin Girdharry, answered questions.

At 6:51 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee