Skip to main content Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 12
Wednesday, February 26, 2020, 3:42 p.m. to 8:37 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Ed Fast for Randy Hoback (Conservative)
• Brad Redekopp for Colin Carrie (Conservative)
• Terry Dowdall (Conservative)
• Jeremy Patzer (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
CanadaBW Logistics Inc.
• Kevin Jacobi, Executive Director
Climate Action Network Canada
• Eddy Peréz, International Policy Analyst
• Jim Tully, Executive Vice-President, DECAST
Associated Equipment Distributors
• Brian P. McGuire, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Union of Public Employees
• Angella MacEwen, Senior Economist, National Services
Neil Craig Associates
• Garry Neil, Cultural Policy Consultant
Songwriters Association of Canada
• Greg Johnston, President
Centre for International Governance Innovation
• Bob Fay, Director, Global Economy Research and Policy
Kalesnikoff Lumber Co. Ltd.
• Ken Kalesnikoff, Chief Executive Officer
Linamar Corporation
• Linda Hasenfratz, Chief Executive Officer
Rielly Lumber Inc.
• Andy Rielly, President and Owner
Capacity Forest Management
• Mike Beck
As an individual
• Patrick Leblond
WWW Timber Products Ltd.
• Waugh William
Woodtone Industries
• Kevin Young, Chief Executive Officer
• Francis Schiller, Advisor
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, February 6, 2020, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-4, An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States.

Eddy Peréz, by videoconference from Arusha, Tanzania, Kevin Jacobi, by videoconference from Niagara Falls, Ontario, and Jim Tully made statements and answered questions.

At 5:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Brian P. McGuire, by videoconference from Schaumburg, Illinois, Greg Johnston, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Angella MacEwen and Garry Neil made statements and answered questions.

At 6:23 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:38 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Linda Hasenfratz, by videoconference from Guelph, Ontario, Andy Rielly, by videoconference from West Vancouver, British Columbia, Bob Fay, Ken Kalesnikoff, Kevin Young, Mike Beck and Patrick Leblond made statements and, with William Waugh and Francis Schiller, answered questions.

On motion of Randy Hoback, it was agreed, — That the committee proceed to sit in camera.

At 8:18 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:24 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 8:37 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Committee Clerk