Skip to main content Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 13
Friday, May 29, 2020, 2:00 p.m. to 4:07 p.m.
Pat Finnigan, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Aimée Belmore, Procedural Clerk
• Grant McLaughlin, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Corentin Bialais, Analyst
• Joanne Markle LaMontagne, Analyst
Canadian Canola Growers Association
• Dave Carey, Vice-President, Government and Industry Relations
Canadian Poultry and Egg Processors Council
• Joël Cormier, Chair of the Board
• Jean-Michel Laurin, President and Chief Executive Officer
Chicken Farmers of Canada
• Benoît Fontaine, Chair of the Board
• Michael Laliberté, Executive Director
Fédération des producteurs d’œufs du Québec
• Paulin Bouchard, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Denis Frenette, Assistant Director General
Grain Growers of Canada
• Jeff Nielsen, Chair of the Board
• Erin Gowriluk, Executive Director
Maple Leaf Foods Inc.
• Rory McAlpine, Senior Vice-President, Government and Industry Relations
Pursuant to the orders of reference of Wednesday, April 29, 2020, and of Tuesday, May 26, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the Canadian response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Benoît Fontaine, Jeff Nielsen, Erin Gowriluk and Dave Carey made statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.

At 3:04 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jean-Michel Laurin, Joël Cormier, Rory McAlpine and Paulin Bouchard made statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.

At 4:07 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee