Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 8
Wednesday, April 13, 2016, 3:39 p.m. to 6:01 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Allison Padova, Analyst
Canadian National Railway Company
• Jim Vena, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer
• Sean Finn, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Services and Chief Legal Officer
• Michael Farkouh, Vice-President, Eastern Region
• Sam Berrada, Vice-President, Safety and Sustainability
Canadian Pacific Railway
• Keith Shearer, General Manager, Regulatory and Operating Practices
• Jim Kozey, Director, Hazardous Materials Programs
• Peter Edwards, Vice-President, Human Resources and Labour Relations
Saskatchewan Shortline Railway Association
• Perry Pellerin, Chairman
Central Maine and Quebec Railway
• Ryan Ratledge, Chief Operating Officer
Southern Railway of British Columbia
• Frank Butzelaar, President
• Derek Ollmann, Director, Operations
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 22, 2016, and on Wednesday, March 9, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of rail safety.

Jim Vena made a statement and, with Sam Berrada, Sean Finn and Michael Farkouh, answered questions.

At 4:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Keith Shearer and Peter Edwards made statements and, with Jim Kozey, answered questions.

At 4:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:59 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Frank Butzelaar, by videoconference from New Westminster, British Columbia, Perry Pellerin and Ryan Ratledge made statements and, with Derek Ollmann, answered questions.

At 5:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:38 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $16,600.00, for the study of Rail Safety be adopted.

It was agreed, — That, in relation to its study of rail safety, the Committee travel to Lac-Mégantic, Québec, and environs in April 2016; and that the necessary staff do accompany the Committee.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $9 234,40 for the Committee travel to Lac-Mégantic, Québec, and environs in April, 2016 be adopted.

It was agreed, — That the Committee send for the Asset Management Plans of the Canadian Pacific Railway Limited and the Canadian National Railway Company.

At 6:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee