Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 77
Thursday, October 26, 2017, 3:33 p.m. to 5:31 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Kenza Gamassi, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Zackery Shaver, Analyst
• Nicole Sweeney, Analyst
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
• Nancy Bérard-Brown, Manager, Oil Markets and Transportation
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
• Chris J. Bloomer, President and Chief Executive Officer
InnoTech Alberta
• Ross Chow, Managing Director
City of Burnaby
• Derek Corrigan, Mayor
Business Council of British Columbia
• Greg D'Avignon, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian National Railway Company
• Janet Drysdale, Vice-President, Corporate Development and Sustainability
City of Victoria
• Ben Isitt, Councillor
Ocean Networks Canada
• Kathryn Moran, President
Western Canada Marine Response Corporation
• Scott Wright, Director, Response Readiness
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, October 4, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-48, An Act respecting the regulation of vessels that transport crude oil or persistent oil to or from ports or marine installations located along British Columbia's north coast.

Nancy Bérard-Brown, Chris J. Bloomer, Ben Isitt, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, and Derek Corrigan, by videoconference from Burnaby, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Janet Drysdale, Greg D'Avignon, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, Scott Wright, by videoconference from Burnaby, British Columbia, and Kathryn Moran, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, made statements and, with Ross Chow, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee