Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 59
Tuesday, May 16, 2017, 11:07 a.m. to 1:15 p.m.
Robert Aubin, Vice-Chair (NDP)

• Linda Lapointe for Gagan Sikand (Liberal)
• Robert J. Morrissey for Ken Hardie (Liberal)
• Michel Picard for Angelo Iacono (Liberal)
• Hon. Pierre Poilievre for Kelly Block (Conservative)
• Marwan Tabbara for Gagan Sikand (Liberal)
• Marc Miller (Liberal)
• Hon. Hunter Tootoo (Independent)
Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Lavoie, Analyst
• Zackery Shaver, Analyst
Institute of Fiscal Studies and Democracy, University of Ottawa
• Azfar Ali Khan, Director, Performance
Office of Infrastructure of Canada
• Glenn R. Campbell, Executive Director, Canada Infrastructure Bank Transition Office
Department of Finance
• Niko Fleming, Chief, Infrastructure, Sectoral Policy Analysis, Economic Development and Corporate Finance Branch
Canadian Electricity Association
• Hon. Sergio Marchi, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Union of Public Employees
• Sarah Ryan, Senior Research Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced its study of subject matter of clauses 403 to 406 (Division 18 of Part 4) of Bill C-44, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2017 and other measures.

At 11:05 a.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.

The Hon. Sergio Marchi made a statement.

At 11:13 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:55 a.m., the sitting resumed.

At 11:55 a.m., the Hon. Judy A. Sgro took the Chair.

Azfar Ali Khan, Sarah Ryan and Glenn R. Campbell made statements.

It was agreed, — That the meeting be extended until 1:15 p.m.

Azfar Ali Khan, Sarah Ryan, Glenn R. Campbell and the Hon. Sergio Marchi answered questions.


Robert Aubin moved, — That the Committee request the directors of the asset management company Blackrock and the members of the Economic Growth Advisory Council to testify as part of an additional meeting on the study of the Canada Infrastructure Bank.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 4; NAYS: 5.

Questioning of Azfar Ali Khan, Glenn R. Campbell, Sarah Ryan and the Hon. Sergio Marchi resumed.

At 1:15 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee