Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 31
Thursday, November 3, 2016, 8:50 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Allison Padova, Analyst
• Zackery Shaver, Analyst
Atkinson Foundation
• Colette Murphy, Executive Director
Canada Lands Company Limited
• John McBain, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Robert Howald, Executive Vice-President, Real Estate
Toronto Community Benefits Network
• Rosemarie Powell, Executive Director
Business Development Committee of Downsview Park
• Toni Varone, Past Chair
Toronto and York Region Labour Council
• John Cartwright, President
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, October 5, 2016, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-227, An Act to amend the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act (community benefit).

John McBain, Rosemarie Powell and Colette Murphy, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and, with Robert Howald, answered questions.

At 9:45 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:49 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Toni Varone and John Cartwright, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.

Kelly Block gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee invite the Minister of Transport to provide additional details on the transportation strategy announced at the Montreal Chamber of Commerce on November 3, 2016, that the Minister appear before December 31, 2016 and the meeting be televised.

At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee