Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 25
Tuesday, October 4, 2016, 8:45 a.m. to 10:44 a.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Allison Padova, Analyst
• Zackery Shaver, Analyst
• Marc Garneau, P.C., M.P., Minister of Transport
Department of Transport
• Catherine Higgens, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs
• Nancy Harris, Executive Director, Regulatory Stewardship and Aboriginal Affairs
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 27, 2016, the Committee commenced its study of the Navigation Protection Act.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

On motion of Angelo Iacono, it was agreed, — That the balance of his time be given to Hunter Tootoo to question the Minister.

Kate Young, Catherine Higgins and Nancy Harris answered questions.


By unanimous consent, Luc Berthold moved, — That the Committee, after noting that the Minister of Transport has reached his own conclusions on the necessary amendments to the Navigation Protection Act, immediately cease its study of the Navigation Protection Act .

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Luc Berthold, Kelly Block, Larry Miller — 3;

NAYS: Robert Aubin, Vance Badawey, Sean Fraser, Ken Hardie, Angelo Iacono, Gagan Sikand — 6.

At 10:44 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee