Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 141
Tuesday, May 7, 2019, 11:03 a.m. to 1:17 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Geneviève Gosselin, Analyst
• Alexandre Lafrenière, Analyst
Corporation des pilotes du Saint-Laurent Central Inc.
• Alain Arseneault, Captain, President
Department of Transport
• Julie Bédard, Director, Marine Pilotage Programs
• Dave Dawson, Director, Airports and Air Navigation Services Policy
• Colin Stacey, Acting Director General, Pilotage Act Review
• Sara Wiebe, Director General, Air Policy
British Columbia Coast Pilots Ltd.
• Roy Haakonson, Captain, President
• Rob Stewart, Captain, Vice-President
Canadian Air Transport Security Authority
• Lisa Hamilton, Vice-President, Corporate Services, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
• Nancy Fitchett, Acting Vice-President, Corporate Affairs and Chief Financial Officer
Cruise Lines International Association
• Michael McGarry, Senior Vice-President, Global Government Affairs
Air Transport Association of Canada
• John McKenna, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Neil Wilson, President and Chief Executive Officer
Association of Canadian Port Authorities
• Wendy Zatylny, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 11, 2019, the Committee resumed its study of the subject matter of Clauses 225 to 279 (Part 4, Divisions 11 and 12) of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures.

Wendy Zatylny, Roy Haakonson, Alain Arseneault and Michael McGarry made statements and, with Rob Stewart, answered questions.

At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

John McKenna, Nancy Fitchett, Sara Wiebe, Colin Stacey and Neil Wilson made statements and answered questions.

At 12:55 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:57 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

It was agreed, — That the Committee proceed to sit in public.

At 1:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:02 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That members of the Committee provide their suggested amendments or recommendations pertaining to Bill C-97 to the Clerk of the Committee before Tuesday, May 14, 2019.

It was agreed, — That a 30-minute period be added to the meeting of Tuesday, May 14, 2019, to discuss suggested amendments or recommendations to be proposed to the Standing Committee on Finance.

Matt Jeneroux gave notice of the following motion:

That the Committee invite the parliamentary secretary to the Minister of Indigenous Services to appear on the Minister’s behalf to update the Committee on the status of delivering infrastructure directly to indigenous communities, including the doubling of the Gas Tax Fund, announced in Budget 2019; and, that the meeting on this study currently scheduled for Tuesday, May 28, 2019, be televised.

At 1:17 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-France Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee