Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 92
Tuesday, December 12, 2017, 8:46 a.m. to 10:48 a.m.
Hon. John McKay, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Tanya Dupuis, Analyst
• Dominique Valiquet, Analyst
The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Dave MacKenzie, it was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $34,500, for the study of Bill C-59, An Act respecting national security matters, be adopted.

National Council of Canadian Muslims
• Ihsaan Gardee, Executive Director
• Faisal Bhabha, Legal Adviser
No Fly List Kids
• Zamir Khan, Parent
• Khalid Elgazzar, Lawyer
Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs
• Shimon Fogel, Chief Executive Officer
As an individual
• Kent Roach, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 27, 2017, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-59, An Act respecting national security matters.

Ishaan Gardee, Faisal Bhabha and Zamir Khan made statements and, with Khalid Elgazzar, answered questions.

At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:52 a.m., the sitting resumed.

At 9:52 a.m., Pierre Paul-Hus took the Chair.

Shimon Fogel and Kent Roach, by videoconference from Oakville, Ontario, made statements and answered questions.

At 10:17 a.m., Hon. John McKay took the Chair.

At 10:48 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee