Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 88
Thursday, November 30, 2017, 8:47 a.m. to 10:46 a.m.
Hon. John McKay, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Philippe Méla, Legislative Clerk
• Karine Parenteau, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Tanya Dupuis, Analyst
• Dominique Valiquet, Analyst
• Hon. Ralph Goodale, P.C., M.P., Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
• Vincent Rigby, Associate Deputy Minister
• Monik Beauregard, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, National and Cyber Security Branch
Canadian Security Intelligence Service
• David Vigneault, Director
• Tricia Geddes, Assistant Director, Policy and Strategic Partnerships
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Kevin Brosseau, Deputy Commissioner, Contract and Aboriginal Policing
• James Malizia, Assistant Commissioner, National Security and Protective Policing, Federal Policing
Communications Security Establishment
• Greta Bossenmaier, Chief
• Dominic Rochon, Deputy Chief, Policy and Communications
Department of Justice
• Douglas Breithaupt, Director and General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 27, 2017, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-59, An Act respecting national security matters.

The Minister made a statement and, with Greta Bossenmaier, David Vigneault, Vincent Rigby, Kevin Brosseau and Douglas Breithaupt, answered questions.

At 9:20 a.m., Matthew Dubé took the Chair.

At 9:23 a.m., Hon. John McKay took the Chair.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Vincent Rigby, Monik Beauregard, David Vigneault, Tricia Geddes, Kevin Brosseau, James Malizia, Greta Bossenmaier and Douglas Breithaupt answered questions.

At 10:46 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee