Skip to main content Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 30
Monday, October 17, 2016, 5:31 p.m. to 7:31 p.m.
Robert Oliphant, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Tanya Dupuis, Analyst
As individuals
• Kathryne Ayres
• Joey Robert Bowser
• Michael Graham Burnside
• Stephen Ellis
• Rukshana Homi Engineer
• Robert Feher
• Alnoor Gova
• Minah Lee
• Jamie May
• Letchumanapillai Pathmayohan
• Kathy Shimizu
• Brian Sproule
• John Rex Taylor
• Joseph Theriault
• John Allen West
Greater Vancouver Japanese Canadian Citizen's Association
• Judy Kiyoko Hanazawa, Representative
• Maurice Earl Mills, Second Vice-President
• Maria Emilia Aspiazu Pazmino, Representative
• Jesse Johannes Schooff, Representative
• Laura Tribe, Executive Director
British Columbia Civil Liberties Association
• Joshua Paterson, Executive Director
Vancouver Raging Grannies
• Barbara Taylor, Representative
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on June 14, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of Canada's National Security Framework.

John Allen West made a statement.

Alnoor Gova, Jamie May, Barbara Taylor, Jesse Johannes Schooff, and Laura Tribe made statements and answered questions.

Maria Emilia Aspiazu Pazmino made a statement.

Joshua Peterson made a statement and answered questions.

Judy Kiyoko Hanazawa made a statement.

Joey Robert Bowser, John Rex Taylor, and Maurice Earl Mills made statements and answered questions.

Brian Sproule, Michael Graham Burnside, Kathryne Ayres, Stephen Ellis, Letchumanapillai Pathmayohan, Robert Feher, Minah Lee, Joseph Theriault, Rukshana Homi Engineer and Kathy Shimizu made statements.

At 7:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-Marie David
Clerk of the Committee