Skip to main content Start of content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 94
Tuesday, May 1, 2018, 8:47 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.
James Maloney, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Mohamed Zakzouk, Analyst
Canadian Council on Renewable Electricity
• Patrick Bateman, Director, Canadian Solar Industry Association
• John Drexhage, Consultant
IHS Markit
• Kevin Birn, Director, Energy
Nalcor Energy
• Jim Keating, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Services and Offshore Development
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, December 11, 2017, the Committee resumed a study on the current state and future of national energy data.

Jim Keating, by videoconference from Houston, Texas, made a statement and answered questions.


Ted Falk moved, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee immediately undertake a study to find solutions to the obstacles facing the approved Trans Mountain Pipeline expansion; that the Committee consider factors such as: a) the May 31, 2018, deadline issued by the proponent, b) the potential economic, socioeconomic, investment, and government revenue losses, and impacts on market access for Canadian oil, related to the potential cancelation, especially on Indigenous communities, c) municipal, provincial, and federal jurisdiction as it relates to the project, d) potential points of leverage between the federal and provincial governments, e) and potential fiscal, constitutional and legal solutions; that the first meeting take place no later than May 8, 2018; that the witnesses include Kinder Morgan, Dr. Kevin Milligan, and Dwight Newman; that all meetings be televised where possible; and that the Committee report its findings to the House.

Debate arose thereon.


Mary Ng moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Peter Fragiskatos, Mary Ng, Marc Serré, Geng Tan, Nick Whalen — 5;

NAYS: Ted Falk, Gord Johns, Phil McColeman, Shannon Stubbs — 4.

At 9:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:01 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Patrick Bateman and Kevin Birn made statements and, with John Drexhage, answered questions.

At 10:45 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee